ESPN 700 Interviews

Utes Garner Major Hardware in Pac-12 Awards Season

The Pac-12 Conference has announced the 2019 Football All-Conference honors as the South Division picked up a majority of first team honors, with South Division Champion UTAH leading the way with eight honorees. ARIZONA STATE and WASHINGTON each had five first team selections. Six players earn first team honors for the second time – Arizona State RB Eno Benjamin, Washington OL Nick Harris and OL Trey Adams (2017), and a trio from Utah – DL Bradlee Anae, DL Leki Fotu, DB Jaylon Johnson. Four players elevated themselves from last year’s second team to first team – Utah RB Zack Moss, USC DL Jay Tufele, CALIFORNIA LB Evan Weaver, and Utah DB Julian Blackmon.

Offensive Player of the Year: Zack Moss, Utah
Pat Tillman Defensive Player of the Year: Evan Weaver, California
Freshman Offensive Player of the Year: Kedon Slovis, USC
Freshman Defensive Player of the Year: Kayvon Thibodeaux, Oregon
Coach of the Year: Kyle Whittingham, Utah

Coach of the Year – Kyle Whittingham, Utah: Guided the Utes to a successful defense of their South Division crown with an 11-2 regular season record, 8-1 in the Pac-12 South Division. It was Utah’s fifth 10-win season in 15 full seasons under Whittingham, and most wins in a season since the perfect 13-0 season in 2008. Under Whittingham, the Utes climbed to No. 5 in the College Football Playoff rankings. The Utes were second in the Pac-12 in scoring (35.9 ppg), first in scoring defense (13.2 ppg), and first in both rushing offense (208.8 avg) and rushing defense (70.3 avg). Whittingham’s record stands at 131-63 in 15-plus seasons. It’s the first time Whittingham has earned Pac-12 Coach of the Year honors.

Offensive Player of the Year – Zack Moss, RB, Utah: Moss, a senior from Hialeah Gardens, Fla., led the Pac-12 in rushing, averaging 113.3 yards per game (6.2 per carry) and 15 TDs. He rushed for 100 or more yards in eight of 12 games played as Utah posted a league-best 208.8 rushing yards per game. With 1,359 rushing yards, he became the first Utah player to rush for 1,000 of more yards in three seasons. Moss owns the Utah career rushing mark with 4,010 yards and 38 rushing TDs. In addition to his ground totals, Moss tallied 26 receptions for 374 yards and 2 TDs. This marks the first time Utah has claimed the conference offensive player of the year honor.

Pac-12 All-Conference Football Team 

Honorable Mention for Utah: DB Terrell Burgess, Sr.; OL Nick Ford; DB Javelin Guidry, Jr..; LB Devin Lloyd, So.; OL Simi Moala, RFr.; DL Mika Tafua, So.; OL Orlando Umana, Jr.

Keep up with ESPN 700 and sign up for our email list!

* indicates required

Download ESPN 700's App


  • Porter Larsen is in his fifth year with ESPN700, covering the Utah Jazz and University of Utah Athletics on-air, online and on the sidelines. Larsen is the Executive Producer of The Drive as well as the host of Utes Game Day and After the Whistle on ESPN700. Before 700, Porter served as the voice of DSU athletics on X91.3fm and CECTV broadcasts as well as beat writing for the Sun News in St. George, Utah.

To Top